Imaginative workouts don’t happen unless you let something press on your imagination

From the forge, and as it’s quoting my post, context takes a moment to kick in.

Whoa, Jaakko, a ‘should’ slipped in from somewhere and I think Marshall took it up too. I’ve described that I think imagination in a group becomes harmoginised and stagnant and for myself, I look for rules that fuck up that harmoginisation, for the new ways we go when were can’t do the very first thing that comes to our imagination. It’s not a matter of should, it’s a matter that when imagination is in charge of whether rules are followed, that harmoginisation pretty much remains perfectly intact. Perhaps I’m wrong about the whole harmoginisation thing, but I take it to be true and I’m pretty much over games where imagination comes first and foremost/imagination controls whether rules are followed. That’s me. Now I’m assuming something about 3:16 prompted or encouraged Marshall to simply do as imagination dictated (he does mention above that ‘the rules say to award Effectiveness’). If not and he did it off his own bat, well I’ll still go with my first comment – if the nuke thing had been within the rule structure, I admire the art made and skill it took to make it/to fit imagination within a rules construct. But just ignoring rules makes me go ‘Uegh’, mostly out of anticipating something else and not getting it at all. Not that that matters a great deal, I was just expressing my hope (that’s why my posts were small, as it’s not a terribly important subject)

Marshall, the above might explain me better, because force shmorce, my positions not about force. But taking your high ground example…what I’d like to see is when everyone including the GM think he’s on higher ground and want to give the bonus, but can’t as the rules stop them from doing so! How does their imagination get around that, aye? There’s a bit of an imagination workout, stretching the imagination from the usual harmoginsed group way of thinking into a direction they, without the game, would not have gone. But then uegh…ignore the rule because clearly blah blah subtext imagination first blah blah. Ie, No work out (ugh…okay, to dilute my point but be pedantically accurate – in this particular instance (perhaps not in the rest of play), no work out).

Quote = Marshall
But, really, fucking with the kill economy doesn?t hurt anything. It doesn?t matter when people level up, get promoted, get demoted, only that it happens. The when and why become fodder for the playgroup, as they turn it into bonafide elements of Situation (and especially Conflict), which they can and will do, all by themselves.

Well, as I’ve basically said above, I’d like to see the kill economy fucking with your imaginations, rather than the other way around. Okay, you’ve worked this nuke into the fiction and it’s gone off, with the apparent idea of massive devistation. But hey, let’s say the kill economy fucks with your imagination instead – how do you fit your imagination into the kill economy? How can you fit this nuke explosion in somehow WITHOUT breaking the rules structure? That’s the imaginative hurdle/hundred kilogram imaginative weights to work out with.

But hey, if the author wrote it with the vibe (or however you might put it) that you ignore the rules at that point, hey, your playing right. I just already own games like that. For myself it’s not enough anymore. I’m basically just expressing my hope for what products are available, when I’ve responded in this thread.

Leave a Reply

