Me? Advocate following the setting? How odd?

I can’t believe I’m advocating conforming, to some extent (doesn’t have to be alot) to the pre-established setting, over here. And Tommi would probably be wagging his finger for posting on the D&D boards as well. Look for posts by ‘Noon’.

I’m actually quite a big supporter of the GM doing what he wants. But specifically in that one particular thing he could want to do is conform to the setting, to some extent, in how he judges things. And by conform, I mean by his own evaluation – the buck stops with him, unless rules say something about it stopping with someone else.

And I don’t even mean utter conformity to it – perhaps mostly mangling it and doing what you want, but some sort of nod and preservation of how it went prior.

And yet here I am – it’s almost like I advocated this idea of the GM doing what he wants, here and there, and the ideas gone extreme and come back to bite me in the bum! The GM advice there just straight says to throw in monsters in to meet the meta game objective the GM has, with zero reference to the setting. There’s alot of ‘it’s for the story’ nonsense justification, which is nonsense because either the setting is part of story, or you chose the wrong setting for your story.

Far out! It’s like I’m usually having to argue about it being a supported illusion and really if the rules say the GM can do it, he can – but here I’m suddenly on the other side of the berlin wall, saying they have forgotten the very reasons they played a game that engages a setting at all (though I’ve left copious disclaimers that if you just wanted to engage the numbers, then cool, your doing what you want and have forgotten nothing of your objective, have fun and power to you)

Just bizarre – I do advocate that if you get to decide something, you do as you want. And that includes, if you want, trying to conform to the setting. But doing what you want can’t include failing to do what you want, as in ignoring setting utterly when it was something you wanted to do (and again, if they didn’t want to do it to being with, that’s fine, this doesn’t apply, have fun doing whatcha doin’).

4 Comments

  1. Tommi said,

    7 June, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    I think you are derailing that thread over there.

  2. Callan said,

    8 June, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I think I’m letting other people derail it since they question the issue I raise and I respond to the questions, but they aren’t actually the original poster. It’s other people acting like the thread is about answering their questions on the issue I raised. The issue I raised might be very pertinent to the OP.

    It’s fairly sublime, but if someone raises an idea they think might help the OP and someone else then treats the thread as theirs to say “No, those ideas are wrong!” when it should atleast be framed “I don’t think they will help the OP”, that’s the person who is taking over. And yeah, I fell right into it. I don’t think I was the source of derailment there. The thread wasn’t there for other posters to try and shoot down and disprove or dissmiss other peoples ideas, but other people were.

    How you make the call is up to you. But when other people use a thread to say X is incorrect rather than they think it wont help the OP, I’d say they are derailing it. And I fell for it, I admit. This is an entirely new…what would you call it, a hole? A gap? A new gap to me that I never realised before.

  3. Callan said,

    8 June, 2009 at 9:14 am

    It might be worth just looking at the first two posts I made in that thread, in relation to this thread here.

    And it occurs to me, and I’m saying this with some humour (don’t let the toneless internet make me seem to serious), that your derailing this thread as well, Tommi. 🙂 Heh, perhaps we both share a trait that in concern, we sometimes overstep, eh?

  4. Tommi said,

    10 June, 2009 at 4:03 am

    Sure I’m derailing this thread. I don’t have anything particularly insightful to add or to ask.

    On derailing generally: It takes at least two.


Leave a Reply

